7 January 2013 | Town Crier News | Honors for Jack Harris

Jack Harris, U.S. Head of Delegation to IMS, Receives Prestigious Honor

Governor’s Innovation Recognition Dinner to Recognize and Honor Efforts of Iowa innovation Leaders

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds will be on hand Monday, January 7, 2013, to recognize the ongoing efforts of Iowa’s business community to push Iowa’s innovation forward.  The event is open to the media.

For the past 10 years, leaders in business and industry, government and the state’s colleges and universities have been focused on establishing an innovation network of collaboration to support and grow the state’s innovation economy.  This dinner recognizes the hundreds of volunteers and the thousands of hours they have committed to making Iowa as a top tier state for innovation.

The program will include remarks from Gov. Branstad and Lt. Gov. Reynolds about the future of innovation in the state.  In addition, several business leaders will be recognized for their roles in developing the state’s innovation ecosystem.  They include: Ted Crosbie, Monsanto; Irving Hahn, QCI; Jack Harris, Rockwell Collins (retired); Peter Hong, New Tech Ceramics; Mark Kittrell, Prime Logic; and Chris Nelson, Kemin.

John LaMarche from VentureNet will be recognized with the Innovation Focus award for his groundbreaking work mentoring start-ups and his commitment to expansion of the Iowa Innovation Network.

Mary Andringa from Vermeer will receive the Iowa Innovator Award for her ongoing commitment to furthering innovation not only within Vermeer, but the state and the nation.

The event is hosted by the Iowa Innovation Corporation, Iowa Innovation Council, and the Iowa Economic Development Authority.